Our Board of Directors

You are here

As a not-for-profit organization, we are managed by a Board of Directors. This group of approximately 17 Board members are highly regarded as leaders in the fields of study abroad and higher education, as well as leaders in the business community in Chicago, nationally, and internationally. Our Board meets multiple times a year to make strategic planning decisions for IES Abroad.

Board of Directors

Mr. Robert Browne
IES Abroad Nantes 1985
Executive Vice President & Chief Investment Officer
Northern Trust

Ms. Mary Cahillane
Former Vice President, Finance and Investments
The Spencer Foundation

Mr. James E. Crawford, III (Vice Chair)
Managing Director
TRIAD Capital Management

Ms. Debora de Hoyos (Vice Chair)
Mayer Brown LLP

Dr. Mary M. Dwyer
President and CEO
IES Abroad

Ms. Marie Fioramonti
Managing Director & Head of Pricoa Capital Group
& Managing Director & Partner, Prudential Capital Partners

Ms. Pamela Brooks Gann
President Emerita and Trustee Professor of Legal Studies
Senior Fellow, Kravis Leadership Institute
Claremont McKenna College

Ms. Phyllis Haberman
IES Abroad Vienna 1968-69
Managing Director, Golden Seeds
Former Partner, Charterhouse Equity Partners

Dr. J. Kline Harrison
Associate Vice President
Associate Provost for Global Affairs
Kemper Professor of Business
Wake Forest University

Ms. Rhonda Jordan
Retired Operating Division President
Kraft Foods

Ms. Mary O'Brien Pearlman
Clinical Associate Professor of Marketing
Kellogg School of Management

Dr. Marla E. Salmon
Senior Visiting Fellow, Evans School of Public Affairs
Professor of Nursing and Public Health, School of Nursing
University of Washington

Mr. Alan Schwartz
Midtown Athletic Clubs

Dr. John D. Simon
Lehigh University

Ms. Sheila A. Stamps
Financial Services Executive and Independent Corporate Board Director

Mr. Peter E. Sundman
IES Abroad Vienna 1979
College of Wooster, Diamond Hill Funds, and Frost Valley YMCA

Dr. Lara Tiedens
Scripps College

Ms. Monica Vachher
Higher Education Advisors LLC

Signore Ezio Vergani (Board Chair)
Chairman and CEO
Asco Pompe S.r.l.

Emeritus Board of Directors

Dr. Danielle Allen 
Director, Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics 
James Bryant Conant University Professor 
Harvard University

Dr. Loren J. Anderson
Former President
Pacific Lutheran University

Mr. John Coblentz 
COO/Executive Vice President
EDC Technology

Mr. Kenneth W. Cunningham 
VP and General Manager 
LexisNexis Risk Solutions

Dr. George A. Drake 
President Emeritus and Professor
Grinnell College

Mr. John J. Gearen 
Mayer Brown LLP

Dr. Homer J. Holland 
Holland Partners, Inc.

Dr. Stanley N. Katz 
Professor in Public and International Affairs 
Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs 
Princeton University Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies

Mr. Hubert Locke 
Professor and Dean Emeritus of Public Affairs
Evans School of Public Affairs
University of Washington

Mr. Thomas J. McDonald 
Managing Partner
Jaguar Growth Partners

Mr. Robert McNeill
Executive Vice President
Atlantic Trust Private Wealth Management

Mr. Philip A. Odeen

Sr. D. Antonio de Oyarzabál 
MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid

Dr. Hugo Sonnenschein 
President Emeritus
University of Chicago